top of page

What you need to know about Federal Poverty Levels (FPL)

A measure of income issued every year by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Federal poverty levels are used to determine your eligibility for certain programs and benefits, including savings on Marketplace health insurance, and Medicaid and CHIP coverage. The data is created by the US Census Bureau which uses pre-tax income as a yardstick to measure poverty. The information on the annual report shows the total cost needed by the average person per year to cover basic necessities such as food, utilities, and accommodation.

Federal Poverty Level amounts for 2020

The 2020 federal poverty level (FPL) income numbers below are used to calculate eligibility for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) based on annual household income. They are based on family size and are set as follows by HHS for all states except Alaska and Hawaii:

  • $12,760 for individuals

  • $17,240 for a family of 2

  • $21,720 for a family of 3

  • $26,200 for a family of 4

  • $30,680 for a family of 5

  • $35,160 for a family of 6

  • $39,640 for a family of 7

  • $44,120 for a family of 8

If you (or your family) make between 100% – 400% of the Federal Poverty Level you may qualify for premium tax credits on the Health Insurance Marketplace.

Cost assistance for the Affordable Care Act is based on household income (family income). Household or family income for the purposes of the ACA uses the equation of Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) of the head of household (and spouse if filing jointly) plus the Adjusted Gross Income (AGI), of anyone claimed as a dependent. If you are filing as single, you only count Modified Adjusted Gross Income.

To see if you’re eligible for a subsidy to lower the cost of health insurance, or if you’re eligible for Medicaid or Obamacare contact us at

29 visualizaciones0 comentarios
bottom of page